2016 Reading Challenge

I think I read too much. I completed the 2015 Reading Challenge, and Goodreads tells me I’ve read 66 books this year. (Here’s a summary of what I read.One of David C Cook’s books, Just Show Up, is actually the highest rated by the Goodreads community. Fun to see.)

It’s fitting that the 2016 Reading Challenge list is a bit shorter. I’ll still read a lot, but hopefully next year I’ll diversify my free time diversions a bit. Here’s my list, taken from Modern Mrs. Darcy.

  1. A book published this year (Bloodline by Claudia Grey)
  2. A book you can finish in a day (The Sabbath: Its Meaning for Modern Man)
  3. A book you’ve been meaning to read (The Wise Man’s Fear)
  4. A book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller (Ready Player One)
  5. A book you should have read in school (The Aeneid)
  6. A book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling, child, or BFF (The Robe by Douglas, recommended by Chris)
  7. A book published before you were born (Murder Must Advertise by Dorothy L. Sayers)
  8. A book that was banned at some point (The Giver by Lois Lowry)
  9. A book you previously abandoned (Daring Greatly by Brene Brown)
  10. A book you own but have never read (Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card)
  11. A book that intimidates you (The Brothers Karamazov)
  12. A book you’ve already read at least once (Sphere by Michael Crichton)
One thought on “2016 Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

