March days (2016)

I am feeling a bit scattered this morning and started to write two entirely different posts. But this is what I ended up with: just a snapshot of what’s going on in my world this month. Happy Easter. He is risen, indeed.

What I’m Reading

  • Living a Jewish Life by Anita Diamant. Jewish history and culture has intrigued me for the last several years, and I’m really enjoying this “basic handbook” for those wishing to embrace Jewish patterns of living. My husband and I have started incorporating some of the Sabbath rituals into our weekends.
  • The Last of the Breed by Louis L’Amour. Recommendation from my husband after I read (and disliked) L’Amour’s The Haunted Mesa. This is stacking up much better!

About town

  • We tried out the new Taco Mama restaurant in Homewood last weekend. Fun and very crowded! They must be doing something right.
  • I’m very excited for the Pepper Place market to open on April 9th. We love going on Saturday mornings with it seems like all of Birmingham (and their dogs) to shop local produce, meats, and tons of handcrafted goods.
  • There are so many events and performers coming to town this spring: Wicked, Celtic Woman, Weird Al, Mumford and Sons…it will be hard to choose which ones to go to!

Everything else

  • Last weekend my husband and I spent a few hours crafting purpose and mission statements for our marriage. (This is not related at all, but you need to watch Weird Al’s “Mission Statement” video if you haven’t already. I will probably never hear mission statement without thinking of this video again.)
  • Spring gardening ambitions: I have resolved to plant some flowers by our front door. Maybe this weekend I’m stop by The Birmingham Botanical Gardens for some inspiration.
  • Grove Collaborative. For the past couple months I’ve been experimenting with this online shopping service for home essentials like cleaning supplies and toiletries. It’s surprisingly addicting and fun to use. I was already buying a lot of Method and Mrs. Meyers products, and this has introduced me to a lot more. I like keeping my grocery-store trips focused on groceries and not having to make special trips to pick up laundry detergent!
Leave a Reply

